MES Eligibility Requirements Cambridge Higher School Certificate

By | February 25, 2021


Reference is made to the policy decision requiring students to satisfy the eligibility criterion of 5 credits at the SC Examinations, or the GCE ‘O’ Level equivalent, at one and the same sitting, for admission to Grade 12 from January onwards.

In this context, the MES wishes to draw the attention of students and the public at large that students of state and registered private secondary schools will be allowed to enter as school candidates for the October/November Higher School Certificate/General Certificate
of Education, Advanced Level Examinations provided that they satisfy the above eligibility requirements.

The Primary School Achievement Certificate (PSAC)

Towards the end of primary edu­cation, learners take the assessment leading to the award of the Primary School Achievement Certificate (PSAC).

Assessment leading to the PSAC will comprise a School-Based Assessment component (SBA).

SBA assesses pupils in non-core learning areas and will be intro­duced in a phased manner.

SBA is competency-based and in congruence with the standards of learning prescribed in the cur­riculum.

SBA undergoes a modera­tion process by the Mauritius Examinations Syndicate.

The PSAC adopts a modular approach that helps to relieve some of the pres­sure on learners and allows them to concentrate on a limited number of subjects assessed at a given time.

Assessment leading to the PSAC will comprise

​(i)​two modular assessments in two core subjects taken at the end of Grade 5 and at the end of Term 2 of Grade 6;
​(ii)​and end of Grade 6 assessments in the remaining core subjects as defined below:

Modular Assessment

See also  Top 10 Best Universities in the World to Study Engineering
​The modular approach will be used to assess ​
​- Science
​- History & Geography.
These will be taken at the end of Grade 5 and at the end of Term 2 of Grade 6.
​They are carried out by the MES.
​The results are banked for the computation of final results.

Assessment at the end of Grade 6