About University of Malawi – The Polytechnic

About University of Malawi – The Polytechnic

About the Malawi Polytechnic

The Malawi Polytechnic is one of the constituent colleges of the University of Malawi (UNIMA). University of Malawi has been in existence since 1965 and is a federal university with five constituent colleges: Bunda College, Chancellor College, kamuzu College of Nursing, College of Medicine and Malawi Polytechnic. The Polytechnic has five faculties, five centres and fifteen departments. The faculties are: Applied Sciences, Built Environment, Commerce, Engineering and Education and Media.
The Polytechnic has fifteen departments offering undergraduate degrees in the following disciplines: accounting, business administration, management, civil, mechanical and electrical engineering, architecture and land management, environmental management, computing and information technology, journalism, language and communication, mathematics and statistics, physics and biochemical sciences, technical education and quantity surveying. The multidisciplinary nature of the college puts the Polytechnic in a unique position to meet the multifaceted industries and developmental needs of the society at large.
Currently, the Polytechnic is offering postgraduate programmes in business administration, infrastructure development and transport management in response to the emerging needs of the industry.


To be a centre of excellence in the provision of scientific and technological education and training for sustainable development.


To advance knowledge and professional competencies in science, technology, commerce and communication through excellence in demand driven education, research, consultancy and outreach.


The College has adopted a set of values that will be shared among all staff and students so as to set minimum code of conduct of business. These values are expected to drive Polytechnic�s culture and priorities. The core values are: