Check CXC Online Examination Results Guide

The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) was set up in 1972 by an agreement among 16 English-speaking Commonwealth Caribbean Countries and Territories. The CXC headquarters is based in Barbados.

The Caribbean Examination Council is an institution of the Caribbean Community (CariCom). The CXC operates to provide regionally and internationally recognised secondary school leaving examinations applicable to the region or zone. It also gives advice to the regional government on matters related to education.

Barbados – Following discussions with Ministries of Education in St Vincent & the Grenadines and countries where candidates sat examinations with that cohort as a result of disruption caused by Hurricane Elsa, the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) wishes to advise that results of this year’s July/August examinations for the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE), Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) and Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence (CCSLC), will be released online on October.

Participating Countries

The Participating Countries and Territories are: 

  1. Anguilla
  2. Antigua and Barbuda
  3. Barbados
  4. Belize
  5. British Virgin Islands
  6. Cayman Islands
  7. Dominica
  8. Grenada
  9. Guyana
  10. Jamaica
  11. Montserrat
  12. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  13. Saint Lucia
  14. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  15. Trinidad and Tobago
  16. Turks and Caicos Islands

CXC Examinations

The CXC offers exams and certifications at the secondary and tertiary levels. These are:

Caribbean Secondary Examinations (CSEC)The CSEC is taken at the end of the secondary education level. This exam is for the high school level. The CSEC examinations are equivalent to the Ordinary Level (O-Levels) examinations and are for pupils aged 16 and above.

Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Exams (CAPE)The CAPE is for the tertiary or junior college level. It is for the post-secondary candidates who are going to enter the job market and for those students who desire to go for further studies at the tertiary education level.

Students who have completed their secondary level studies, and have CSEC or an equivalent certification are eligible for this examination. The CAPE is equivalent to the British Advanced Levels (A-levels).  
The examination may vary by region. The CSECs are usually looked at as an employment qualification verifying the holder as a secondary school graduate, and the CAPE is regarded as an appropriate qualification for admission into tertiary education.

CXC Results

To know about the results of the candidates, visit the official website of CXC. The results and performance are in the school reports that are uploaded every year on the CXC website and the results are also available in the CXC local registrar.

CXC Assessment

The performance of candidates is evaluated in a terminal exam as well as internal assessment (IA) which is known as School Based Assessment (SBA).

The internal assessment refers to the skills, knowledge and attitude gained through activities performed during the school studies. The internal assessment of the pupils is considered in the final grade awarded.

CXC Examinations Registration

To register for CXC exams, visit the CXC website

Check CXC Online Examination Results Here