where is University Of Swaziland

where is University Of Swaziland

The University of Swaziland has three campuses which are within thirty minutes drive of each other.

Kwaluseni Campus

The Kwaluseni Campus is located 9 km from the city of Manzini and 34 km from the capital city Mbabane and is close to the main road linking the two cities. The first stage of campus development was financed jointly by grants from the United Kingdom, Canada, the USA Anglo American Corporation and the Government of Swaziland. It was officially opened by King Sobhuza II on 8th September 1973. This campus is situated on gently sloping land with sufficient room for expansion. It is the nerve-centre of the University, housing the central administrative offices, five Faculties, the Institute of Distance Education (IDE), the Institute of Post-Graduate Studies, the Main Library and other Centres and Administrative Units.

Luyengo Campus

Formerly the Swaziland Agricultural College and University Centre (SACUC), the Luyengo Campus now constitutes the University’s Faculty of Agriculture. It is located in the Malkerns Valley which is noted for its small-scale commercial farming approximately 37 km from the city of Mbabane and 27 km from the city of Manzini along the Manzini-Bhunya road. The Campus also houses the University‚Äôs Research Centre, the National Research Council (NRC).

Mbabane Campus

Having appreciated the potential to strengthen nursing sciences, environmental health sciences, and other related programmes, the University of Swaziland and Government agreed that in 1996, the Institute of Health Sciences now the Faculty of Health Sciences was incorporated into the University. This was done in order to strengthen existing nursing science and environmental health science programmes. The campus is located in the city of Mbabane about 37 km away from the Kwaluseni Campus. The campus is located in close proximity to the Mbabane Government Hospital which serves the capital city, Mbabane, and the surrounding areas. The faculty which has a total ground area of 15, 000 m2 comprises of three blocks of students hostels, a dining hall, library, lecture rooms and the main administration building.