2018 / 2019 Schorlarships / Awards For Malawians At Austrailia

By | November 9, 2017

2018 / 2019 Schorlarships / Awards For Malawians At Austrailia

Applications open 1 September 2017 – 15 December 2017.

MALAWI: Eligibility Criteria – Master Awards 2019

Malawi priority areas

  • Agricultural Productivity
  • Extractives
  • Public Policy (Including governance and public financial management)

Applications will also be considered in the following sectors:

  • Special Needs Education
  • Public Health
  • Infrastructure for Development (Including Energy, irrigation and WASH infrastructure)
  • Natural Resource, Water and Environmental Management
  • Tourism

Coordinating Authority for Malawi

  • Department of Human Resource Management and Development

Target Group

  • National of Malawi
  • Mid to senior professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study
  • Professionals who wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. (Masters of Business Administration are not permitted)
  • Clear vision for how knowledge gained through the Masters degree will be used to improve policy, practice and development outcomes in the proposed field of study
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship.


  • Not more than 50 years of age at the date of application At least three (3) years’ post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to proposed field of study and to employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience
  • Possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised institution with at least a 2:2 (2nd Class Lower Division) pass
  • Public sector applicants must be approved by their Controlling Officer/Head of Institution in line with the Malawi Government National Training Policy and Malawi Public Service Training Guidelines and Procedures. (Prior to submission of the application, all public sector applicants must collect a Letter of Endorsement from the Department of Human Resource Management and Development which is issued upon production of the following: letter from the Head of Institution in support of the application; letter of conditional appointment on probation; and letter of confirmation of appointment)
  • Must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • Must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to current employment following completion of the award
  • Must meet the general minimum eligibility criteria for Australia Awards Scholarships – refer to the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook
See also  Université des Mascareignes Application Mauritius Africa scholarship 2019

Further Information
For further information on Australian Government policies, please see the links below.

  • Provision of course research support is provided for short-listed candidates
    Special needs assistance is provided, as deemed appropriate, on a case-by-case basis. From more information read the Australian Government’s Disability Rights guide
  • Essential information for participating in the Scholarship program is provided in the Australia Awards Scholarships Policy Handbook
  • Additional information on the Australian Government’s policies is provided on the Australia Awards website (by The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade)
    Applicants must inform Australia Awards – Africa of any connection or relationship to staff employed by the Australian Government or with Palladium (the Managing Contractor), at the time of application. Information can be sent to the Awards Department.